Programme

2022

Wednesday 5th January - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Darren Pullman BPE3* CPAGB EFIAP - Photography ABC
Darren will present via Zoom and has an eclectic mix of photographs - see http://www.pullmanphotography.co.uk
** CLOSING DATE FOR COMPETITION NUMBER THREE

Wednesday 12th January - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Show & Tell Evening - What I Have Photographed Within The Last Three Months

Wednesday 19th January - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Pam & Eddy Lane both ARPS DPAGB EFIAP- Svalbard, Kingdom Of The Ice Bear
Visit their website

Saturday 22nd January - Visit to Devizes
Meet outside The Bear Inn, Market Square at 10.30am. Plenty to photograph in this attractive Wiltshire town, including the Kennet and Avon canal. Pub lunch in one of the many good hostelries! More details HERE

Wednesday 26th January - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Competition Number Three - the results!

Wednesday 2nd February - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Richard Price - Whatever Next: My Photography & Mental Health
Richard visits us for the first time and will discuss how important photography is to him.

Wednesday 9th February - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Sue Winkworth LRPS CPAGB-AV & Richard Winkworth - Home and Away
Sue & Richard visit us again to show us a selection of their varied A/Vs, mostly based around travel.

Wednesday 16th February - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Peter Young LRPS CPAGB APAGB - Tales From The Dark Side
Peter visits us for the first time, travelling from South Wales with a set of prints. He is a very in-demand speaker and judge.

Saturday19th February - Visit to Glastonbury Abbey
Meet on the street outside the Abbey entrance at 10.30 am. Loads to photograph in Glastonbury! Full details HERE

Wednesday 23rd February - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
DPI Panel of 5 Competition
This competition has proved very successful in recent years, let's have a good entry this time!
** CLOSING DATE FOR LONDON CAMERA EXCHANGE COMPETITION - "POWER"

Wednesday 2nd March - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Terry Walters EFIAP PPSA BPE1*- A Journey Through Portraiture
Terry, who is a member of Swindon PS makes his first visit to the club and he is known for his excellent and successful photography. His website is www.terrywalters.co.uk
** CLOSING DATE COMPETITION NUMBER FOUR

Wednesday 9th March - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Steve Hallam LRPS - Stick To Your Guns
Steve, one of our members will present to us for the first time. Flickr: https://flic.kr/ps/HRVVS

Wednesday 16th March - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
London Camera Exchange Competition- Power
Representatives of the LCE Bath branch visit us to tell us the results and present the prizes!

Saturday 19th March to Saturday 26th March - Porlock
A week taking photographs in Exmoor- see details HERE.

Wednesday 23rd March - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Competition Number Four - the final round when the league tables are decided.

Wednesday 30th March - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Jill Toman CPAGB - My Favourite Images
Jill, a member of Norton Radstock PS & Bath PS has had much success with her great images and visits us for the first time.

Wednesday 6th April - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
An Evening With Hanham Photographic Society
This is our return exchange with Keynsham PS and some of our members will show their images.

Saturday 9th April - visit to Dyffryn Gardens
Beautiful Grade 1 listed gardens west of Cardiff owned by The National Trust. Meet at the entrance at 11.00 am. See details HERE

Wednesday 13th April - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Print & Digital Image Of The Year: the most successful images in each category are judged again by a different judge.

Wednesday 20th April - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Cate Barrow - UK Wildlife
Cate comes highly recommended from South Wales to show us her excellent wildlife images. Her website is HERE

Wednesday 27th April - Zoom only!
Annual General Meeting
An important date in the club's diary so please attend.

Wednesday 4th May - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Clive Greenland ASINWP QGPP LRPS- Astrophotography and Night Photography
Clive visits us for the first time to show an aspect of photography that is becoming increasingly popular. His website is HERE

Friday 6th May
Club Outing to Bowood Rhododendron Walks. See details HERE

Wednesday 11th May - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
WCPF Print Exhibition - the first of two evenings showing some of the prints: this time from the 2020 exhibition.

Wednesday 18th May Evening Out- Temple Meads
Meeting at The Knights Templar Wetherspoons at The Square, Redcliffe at 7.30pm. Walk around the area to see the bridges, river and office blocks.

Wednesday 25th May - Hanham Methodist Church - as this is a practical demonstration we are unable to relay by Zoom
Vince Penticost AWPF - Macro Photography
Vince visits us from South Wales with practical demos and some of his prints.

Saturday 28th May & Sunday 29th May
Club Outing to The Castle Combe Steam Rally. Please see details HERE

Wednesday 1st June Evening Out - Marshfield
A visit to this attractive South Gloucestershire village. Meet outside The Catherine Wheel pub at 7.30pm.

Wednesday 8th June - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Peter Crane ARPS - Street Photography.
Peter visits us for the first time in five years with many new images. His website is HERE
** CLOSING DATE FOR MONO AND COLOUR DPI COMPETITION

Wednesday 15th June - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Simon Caplan LRPS - Out of the Dark
Simon revisits after many years to show us his wonderfully creative photography. His website is HERE

Wednesday 22nd June Evening Out - Cabot Tower. Park Street & Queens Road
Meet at the foot of the Cabot Tower at 7.30pm and explore the area.

Wednesday 29th June - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Mono & Colour DPI Competition: a new competition for up to two mono and two colour DPI's. Usual competition rules apply.

Wednesday 6th July - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Ed Cloutman EFIAP Hon FWPF : My Life In Cameras / How I Do It
Ed visits us for the first time from South Wales with a different talk for each half. His Flickr page is HERE

Wednesday 13th July Evening Out - Bath Abbey and surrounding area
Meet outside the main door of Bath Abbey at 7.30pm

Wednesday 20th July - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
postponed

Saturday 23rd July
Club outing to Llantwit Major - see HERE

Wednesday 27th July - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Andrew Marker FRPS - Journey to FRPS & Beyond
Andrew gave us an excellent Zoom presentation last year but he is a successful print worker and this time will present his prints in person.

Saturday 30th July
Club outing to Broadway - see HERE

Wednesday 3rd August - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Les Loosemore ARPS DPAGB AWPF
A print presentation highlighting Cwmorthin, Storm Brian - Porthcawl Lighthouse, Football & Rugby, Panorama Landscapes, Abandoned Lime Works & Fragility of Decay (Mono).
Les is sponsored by Fotospeed and returns with more prints after his popular last visit. His Flickr page is HERE

Wednesday 10th August - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
WCPF Travelling Print Exhibition: a selection of prints from the current exhibition.

Saturday 13th August
Club outing to Hidcote Manor Gardens - see HERE

Wednesday 17th August Evening Out - A Walk Around The Docks
Meet at the M Shed at 7.30pm: walk down to Cumberland Basin and along the other side through Millennium Square.

Wednesday 24th August - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Pete McCloskey FRPS APAGB - A Personal Collection Of Prints

Saturday 27th August
Club outing to Gloucester Retro Festival - see HERE

Wednesday 31st August - Zoom only
Terry Hewitt - Camera Raw. What, Why & Should I Bother?
A new speaker, Terry will join us via Zoom from Stockport.

Wednesday 7th September - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
John Hudson ARPS DPAGB SPSA ASPS- The Quest & Beyond
After judging for us John returns to show some of his own images. His website is HERE

Sunday 11th September
Club outing to Frampton Country Show - see HERE

Wednesday 14th September - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
An Evening With Downed Camera Club.
Members of Downend CC will be visiting us to show us their prints and digital images. We hope to be visiting them at a later date.

Saturday 17th September
Club outing - walk at West Monkton - see HERE

Wednesday 21st September - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Show & Tell Evening- Water. Please submit images via Photo Entry
**CLOSING DATE: COMPETITION NUMBER ONE

Wednesday 28th September - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Bristol & Avon Competition
Our annual competition for prints and digital images for local scenes taken within the BS postcode area. Please see the full rules on our website for details. Photo Entry will be set up for entries.

Wednesday 5th October - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Ed Collacott - A Lifelong Passion For Landscapes
Ed visits us after a number of years to show some of his great images which include many landscapes. His website is HERE
This is a joint evening with Keynsham PS

Wednesday 12th October - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Competition Number One - the results! Hope you got your entries in on time!

Wednesday 19th October - Zoom only
Show & Tell Evening- Friends
Let us see how you interpret this one! Please submit images via Photo Entry by the day before

Wednesday 26th October - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Alastair Chalmers - Offa's Dyke, South To North
Alastair visits us for the first time from Bath to show us images from this epic walk.

Wednesday 2nd November - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
An Evening With Damien Lovegrove.
Damien is well known for his wedding and portrait photographs .His website is HERE
This is a joint evening with Keynsham PS

Wednesday 9th November - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Sue O'Connell FIPF ARPS DPAGB ABPE EFIAP d/3 and Peter Brisley ARPS DPAGB BPE2 EFIAP - Travels Towards The Edge
Sue & Peter visit us for the first time to show us their excellent travel images. They are members of Bristol PS and are Fotospeed ambassadors. Their websites are HERE and HERE

Wednesday 16th November - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Sue Bennett- Just For Fun
Club member Sue presents a selection of her excellent photographs for the first time.

Friday[ 8th November at St Barnabas Church Hall, Warmley
An Evening With HPS at Kingswood Photographic Society
We visit Kingswood PS with one of our exchange evenings. We hope quite a few of our members will be willing to show their prints and PDI's.

Wednesday 23rd November - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Jenny Byram EFIAP/b DPAGB BPE1- There & Back Again
Jenny, a former HPS member visits us to show a variety of pictures taken around the world.
** CLOSING DATE: COMPETITION NUMBER TWO

Tuesday 29th November at The Assembly Hall, Salisbury Road, Downend
An Evening With HPS at Downend Camera Club
Another of our exchange evenings and we return with a group of our members and their images.

Wednesday 30th November - Zoom only
Robert Snary- India Golden Triangle With Ranthambore NP
Robert, who is Chairman of Enfield PS, presents via Zoom.

Wednesday 7th December - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
An Evening With Kingswood Photographic Society
Kingswood's members repay the compliment and show us a variety of their prints and PDI's

Wednesday 14th December - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Competition Number Two - the results! How are you doing this season?

Wednesday 21st December - Evening Out - Our Christmas Meal!
After two years we will hopefully be able to meet up and have an enjoyable Christmas Meal. More details to follow.

Wednesday 28th December
No Meeting - Merry Christmas!

2023

Wednesday 4th January - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Sandie Cox ARPS DPAGB EFIAP - In Search of Polar Bears
Sandie has judged for us a few times but it is a while since we have seen her images. Her website is HERE
** CLOSING DATE: COMPETITION NUMBER THREE

Wednesday 11th January - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Roy Jacobson - A Look at UK Wildlife
Roy visits us for the first time for over five years to show us some more of his great images.

Wednesday 18th January - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Mike Martin EFIAP AWPF - I've Told You A Million Times I Don't Repeat Myself
Mike, who was a HPS member, has enjoyed great success in salons and now shows us some more of his creative images. His website is HERE

Wednesday 25th January - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Competition Number Three - the results! What will tonight's judge make of our images?

Wednesday 1st February - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Andy Haynes: Photography - My Journey Towards Seeing Rather Than Looking
Andy, our Competition Secretary shows us the progress that he has made with his photography.

Wednesday 8th February - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
David Lingham FRPS - Darkroom Monochrome Prints
David visits us for the first time with some traditional analogue photography. His website is HERE

Wednesday 15th February - Zoom only
Naomi Saul ARPS ASINWP EFIAP DPAGB APAGB - Colorado Fall Colour
Naomi is a judge and lecturer from East Anglia and joins us tonight via Zoom for what should be a colourful evening.
**CLOSING DATE: LONDON CAMERA EXCHANGE COMPETITION - "FASHION"

Wednesday 22nd February - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Panel of 5 Competition
This event is well supported each year and there is a high standard so get your entries ready in plenty of time!

Wednesday 1st March - Zoom only
Erica Oram CPAGB AFIAP BPE3- The View From Here
Erica presents to us via Zoom. This is her latest talk which continues a theme of making the most of limited opportunities for photography by being a little creative both in camera and afterwards. Her Flickr page is HERE
** CLOSING DATE : COMPETITION NUMBER FOUR

Wednesday 8th March - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
London Camera Exchange Competition - "Fashion" - the results! We are really grateful to LCE Bath for sponsoring our annual themed competition yet again.

Wednesday 15th March - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Competition Number Four. This is the evening when the league table results are decided.

Wednesday 22nd March - Zoom only
Alison Taylor ARPS- Coastal Photography
Presented via Zoom. Coastal and seascape photography. Alison uses different techniques to reflect the many moods of the sea and waves. Her website is HERE

Wednesday 29th March - Zoom only
Show & Tell Evening: Interiors, including churches and other buildings.

Wednesday 5th April - Zoom only
Richard O'Brien - Exposure to Edit
Presented Via Zoom. A two-hour talk on shooting internal and external architecture covering gear, tricks and thought process, all from the point of view of an amateur photographer. Also includes a live demonstration of editing techniques using a combination of Lightroom Classic and Adobe Photoshop CC, from the point of view of a professional IT instructor! Richard's website is HERE

Wednesday 12th April - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Print and Digital Image of the Year
The most successful prints and digital images in each category are judged again.

Wednesday 19th April - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Aleks Gjika EFIAP DPAGB - In Search Of The Je Ne Sais Quoi
Aleks, who is a member of Cheltenham Camera Club, visits us for the first time to show us some of his successful images. His website is HERE

Wednesday 26th April - Hanham Methodist Church + Zoom
Annual General Meeting
Please come along for this important event in the club calendar.